"Fashion at the speed of life"


I don’t know about you but I really miss the Rihanna of the “Music Of The Sun” days! Gone is the sweet west-indian girl with the cool voice and layed back island vibe. She was fun, care-free and most important..sweet! When I first heard “Pon de Replay” I died and went to heaven! Here was someone who’s style and values finally represented west-indian girls of all types! But gone is that sweet Island girl.

As the years went on Ri-ri got more and more darker and less and less sweet. Now I’m a punk chick who can appreciate darker, edgier music but it just seemed off and wrong coming from someone as sweet and layed back as Rhianna was. “Disturbia’s” lyrics seemed like she was haunted and the accompanying video had her looking as if she were possessed and even i supported that was like “yeah go Ri-ri!! but then it just kept getting darker and darker and with “Rockstar”, “Russian roulette” and finally “Love The Way You Lie” and “S&M” huh?! I mean Rihanna spent months of her life talking about how she was traumatized by Chris Brown’s violent attack on her but now glorifies abuse and pain?! I mean some of her lyrics on “S&M”are “Now the pain is my pleasure ’cause nothing could measure” and “Sticks and stones may break my bones but whips and chains excite me”! What?! So now a horrible experience that should have been a lesson to girls to be strong and pay attention to signs of an abusive boyfriend; will now make some clueless people go “Oh that’s why she got her ass beat, she likes it!” and “Love The Way You Lie” justifies spousal abuse by the music video showing a dude smack around his girlfriend and then lovingly caressing her face before he tries to knock down a door to choke her! Eminem even raps about tieing his ladylove to a bed and setting the house on fire if she leaves him!! I don’t understand what happened in Rihanna’s life to make her so angry and dark. I mean she keeps saying she’s “good at being bad”.

I want the old Rihanna to meet the new Rihanna and for her to find a happy medium between the two. I like her edgier sound but can she keep it lighter and more fun and leave physical abuse and mental anguish out? What happened to “Umbrella” it was a grown up sound but not dark. I know Rhianna doesn’t want to be a role model but that isn’t stopping tweens everywhere from copying her style and hanging off her every word so she really needs to take that into consideration.

Rihanna back in the good ole days

Rihanna 2011

Leave a Reply

